Sitecore Basics

Logging In

  1. Visit https://cm.windcreek.com/sitecore

  2. Log in using your username and password. Your username is your first initial and last name. For security reasons, your password will be sent to you separately. The instructions in the rest of this guide will assume you have already logged in.

  3. After logging in, you will be taken to the Sitecore launchpad. Here you can navigate to any area of the CMS, but most of your time will be spent in the Content Editor. If you need to return to the launchpad at any time, you can click the square icon in the top left corner of the screen.


    The Sitecore launchpad after logging in

Publishing

All content changes must be published before they are visible to end users on windcreek.com. Until then, the unpublished content is only visible to users who are logged into the CMS, or users who are browsing the content management instance of the site (cm.windcreek.com).

To preview content before publishing, simply add the cm subdomain to the URL. For example, the live (published) URL for the Atmore homepage is windcreek.com/atmore. To view the latest unpublished changes of the Atmore homepage, the URL would be cm.windcreek.com/atmore. These links are public and can be shared with other Wind Creek employees for internal review, however this version of the site is hidden from search engines.

Here is an overview of the publish process:

  1. After editing a particular page, component, or other piece of content, save your changes by clicking the Save button in the top toolbar, or by using the Ctrl + S keyboard shortcut (similar to Microsoft Word). Note: Sitecore will warn you if you try to publish when you have unsaved changes.

  2. You can publish an item using the Publish Item button in the right-click menu, or using the button in the top toolbar under the Publish tab.

You can start the publish process using either of these buttons

  1. Sitecore will display a popup box with the publish settings. Under most circumstances, you should use the Smart Publish option. Only use Republish after you’ve already tried smart publishing and you’re still not seeing your changes.

The publish settings box

  1. You can also toggle the checkbox to indicate whether you want to Publish subitems or not. This includes any child pages under the page you’re currently publishing, components under the page’s Data folder, etc. If you only modified a single item, you can uncheck this box to avoid publishing everything underneath it. As a general rule of thumb, it’s a good idea to publish as few items as possible. This is mostly for performance reasons, but also be aware that other content editors could be working on child pages and they might not be ready for their work to be published.

  2. Click the Publish button at the bottom of that popup window, confirm that you want to publish, and wait for it to finish. When it’s done, Sitecore will display a report that shows the number of items updated, deleted, added, or skipped.

This window shows the results of the publish operation. Note it says one item was updated.

  1. Check the page outside the CMS to confirm your changes are visible.

To unpublish a page, check the box that says Never publish, then publish the page. Sitecore will tell you that the one item was deleted. Note: In order to see the Never publish field, you must enable Standard fields under the View tab in the top toolbar. 

To unpublish an item, check the box that says Never publish. To see this field, make sure Standard fields are visible in the view settings.

After you unpublish a page this way, Sitecore will display a warning at the top of the content editor to remind you that publishing this page will have no effect. To republish this page later, make sure you uncheck the Never publish box.

Sitecore displays this warning when the never publish box is checked